Thank you!

After much discussion and over seventy-five emails back and forth between households, we have made some more changes to the new site. Rather than say anything, I am going to let you wait it out until the new site goes live. :-)

One thing I will address today is the plan to separate the new site from Karen and my blogs. What does this mean?

Writing on the Rocks (WotR) will focus on reviews and interviews, but will not be home to our thoughts, ideas, struggles and triumphs on the road to publication. (Until, of course, one of us gets published. Then we can review and interview each other! :-) )

Rather than maintaining this site, the new one, and our own personal sites (which we have tended to neglect in the past), we have decided to move the blogging portion onto our individual sites.

I am not exactly sure when this split will take place, but we had discussed the possibility of it happening as early as next week. Since today is Thursday, and Karen will post tomorrow, that would make this my last post on HCWW. (Is it bad that I am crying as I write this?)

Is it possible we are back here next week? Absolutely. But, just in case, I feel it is only appropriate that I share what HCWW, and my amazing partner in crime, Karen, have meant to me the past few months. (Bear with me; this may be a little long.)

When we started this site, I was terrified. I didn’t know what to say, I didn’t want anyone to read it. I read over and over how important it was for writers to blog, but I really didn’t want to.

To be honest, Karen didn’t either. The solution? We joined forces and HCWW was born.

At the time, Karen’s husband told us not to worry too much about what we write because no one will read it anyway. As much as we give him a hard time for saying that, it was exactly what we needed to hear. We approached our posts as emails to one another, figuring that we would be the only ones reading it anyway.

That piece of advice was one of the best we got, because it gave us the confidence to just write. While it may not have been what we wanted to hear, but it was what we needed.

When I wrote my first post, it was done a few days in advance, and it went back and forth with Karen (at the time Kaye) several times before I was ok with posting it. When I did, my hands shook as I clicked “publish”. I tweeted it to my approximately 30 twitter followers, terrified that someone may actually listen and click the link. I refused to post it on my Facebook page, for fear that those I know if “real life” would read it.

Fast forward four months (and 1 day) and you will find a different person sitting here. I typically write my posts the same morning they are posted. Why? I like to put out there what is currently on my mind. I tweet my post to my 500+ followers and post it to both of my Facebook pages. Now, I even hope some of them listen and click the link. ;-)

I have a new-found confidence in my writing, and a lot of that comes from Karen. When we first started this site, she would give me great feedback, saying she loved a section of the post and why or telling me if something needed work. She would put up with my eighteen follow-up emails asking about subtle wording changes and begging for reassurance that it was good enough for the original ten people we had reading (and sometimes commenting on) our posts. (To you I am also extremely grateful, and I am glad you have stuck around for the sometimes bumpy ride.)

When I had a rough day, Karen would send me amazing pep talks. If I was afraid to put something out there, she would do it for me. Karen is the queen of Twitter (and Twitter jail), so she would tweet my posts multiple times a day. She still tweets asking for more followers for me as I approach new milestones in followers.

She had the confidence in me that I lacked, and, over time, it rubbed off.

Without her, I would have quit blogging (and likely Twitter) after a week. Even when I wanted to give up, I didn’t because I had made a commitment to her. She pushed me, and I am more thankful for that than I know how to express. (Crap, there go the tears again. I can be such a girl sometimes!)

Without Karen’s support and understanding, the great followers we have here on this site, and the amazing friends I have made on Twitter, I would never be where I am today.

Instead, I am excited to be moving forward to build a platform of my own, in my own name, rather than hiding behind a pen name. I am thrilled with the opportunity WotR will give us to be able to weigh in on the awesome books we have been reading, and humbled that the authors are willing to take the time to talk with us about their books.

I can’t finish this post without a shout-out to Al Boudreau, who originally suggested the Karen and I start a review site; the rest of the #pubwrite, who crew quickly joined in, quickly convincing us that it was a good idea; and, of course, Mike Pallante, for coming up with the awesome title for the new site.

I am infinitely grateful to all of you for your continued support, encouragement, and confidence as we take this exciting next step in our writing journey. I love you all!

SQ

About Susi M. Nonnemacher

Susi M. Nonnemacher is devoted wife who finds time to write between minor league baseball games, baking batches of cookies, trying out new Pinterest-inspired crafts, and juggling more loads of laundry than any two people should be able to produce. You can find more about her at http://smnonnemacher.com or follow @susinonnemacher on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Blog, Fun Stuff, Reading, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thank you!

  1. Karen DeLabar says:

    Well, crap. What the hell do I say to that? Um, pass the tissues?

    Seriously, Susi – you always had it, I just helped you show it. I had the easy part!
    Great post and this has been amazing ride so far, thanks for pushing me into it ;) Just kidding. I don’t know what I’d do without writing, twitter, pubwrite and you! You were there even before HCWW, back during NaNoWriMo – that’s when it started for me. And you were there. So, thank YOU for your undying support, never-ending pep talks and endless supply of laughing cow cheese, pretzels and coffee to help us through our brainstorming sessions. :)

    • Susi Borath says:

      Seriously, I finally stopped crying, and now I started again!

      Thanks, Karen. I agree, NaNo was where it all started, where we figured out that we make such a great team. I wouldn’t have made it through that if it weren’t for us pushing each other, and I am sure there will be days when I will still need it in the future! :-) (Nope, you’re not done yet!)

      Now I want some laughing cow cheese and pretzels. And I am out of both. Crap! :-)

  2. Amazing what the support of others can do to help us realize our deepest truths and talents…
    I happen to think you’re BOTH pretty wonderful, and am looking forward to watching your creative endeavors unfold and soar in the future.
    So glad I’ve become friends with two such genuinely lovely and talented people.
    Long live Twitter! Long live #pubwrite!!! :)

    Good luck, ladies. xo

    • Susi Borath says:

      Aww, thanks Jenn! Seriously, it seems to be make Susi cry day (I guess I started it though, so I shouldn’t complain).
      I am so thankful we have met you as well. I look forward to our chats (and am extremely jealous that I won’t be at ReaderCon to meet you in person). :-)

  3. Pamela Mason says:

    What a terrific site.. that I almost missed! I share your initial fears RightNow Susi… with my blog and future endeavors. I’m so glad the two of you brought out the best in each other.
    I’ll be looking for your blogs next week!

Leave a Reply

