Out With The Old, In With The New

God, I love this time of year. Spring is in full swing and although Mother Nature is having a major PMS issue right now, the season itself is pretty cool.  Spring is all about change, new life – out with the old, in with the new, right? Yard and garage sale posters are littering telephone poles every weekend and garbage cans are overstuffed with junk that has been deemed no longer necessary to take up valuable attic space.

Well, Susi and I decided to take that one step further and put the Spring cleaning attitude to our blog; this blog. That’s right people we’ve got Spring fever and we’re taking it out on Have Coffee…Will Write. (Had enough cheesy cliches yet?) 😉

When we started this blog we had no idea what we were doing. Like most writers who want to get into blogging to help build their platform we were both excited, anxious and completely clueless as to what we were doing. We both followed some blogs so we knew what kind of sites were out there and how things generally worked but we still had a lot to think about.

Ok, that first part is a lie. Susi followed blogs, I didn’t.  I was busy dancing in a tutu and tiara with my 3 year old to Disney’s “Princess and the Frog.” Snazzy music if you’re curious.

After I was done jitterbugging Susi pointed me to several different blogs and we sat down to decide what we wanted to accomplish with ours. We both agreed that our blog should be about what it’s like for a new writer to begin an actual writing career. Feeling pretty smug with our decision we moved on to more fun stuff, like taking pictures of ourselves to put up and the really fun part of naming the blog. (Can you guess where I’m going?)

When I think of that night I just want to scream. Seriously people, we were idiots when we started. I admit it. I wear the idiot badge proudly because I’ve learned from it. Why did I go with a pen name? Because I read a blog (yep, just one) about how I should change my name. I didn’t think that I’d have a Facebook page with fans other than my family and I didn’t think that I’d hit close to 700 followers on Twitter in just under four months.

I honestly thought that Susi and I would venture out into the writing world together, meet a couple of people and go on our merry way. I’ve never been so happy to be wrong.

Which brings up this blog and its title. Many of you have contacted either Susi or I regarding our blog’s name. Yes, we knew going into this that there was another blog registered under havecoffeewillwrite.com and yet we still went with havecoffeewillwrite.wordpress.com, because, “Hey! It’s different!”

Say it with me people: WE WERE IDIOTS!

In our defense, never in our wildest dreams did we imagine the supportive and inspiring people we would meet so soon into our journey. If you would have told us that people other than family and friends would read our blog we would have squeed ourselves and at that time I had no idea what the hell a “squee” was!

However, your support and constant traffic to our blog has once again proved to us that we should never be allowed to name things. (I mean, Susi had THREE name changes in four months. Why did we think we could come up with a blog title?)

This is where we turn to you, dear friends. We joined a little community by starting this blog and we want you to be a part of this change. Susi and I have decided to hold a little contest:

NAME OUR BLOG

(Sheesh, even the title of our contest could use some work.)

We’re asking you to leave interesting, creative titles of what you think our blog should be called. At the end of the contest Susi and I will grab a bottle of Scotch and revel in the fact that we have the most awesome friends out there. Then we’ll drink our sorrows away because we can’t come up with an interesting blog title by ourselves and we’re writers.

But not only are we asking you to give us your best titles, oh no, we’re asking you to then vote on them! *Squee* (Yeah, I know what it means now.) Now, to be fair to our fragile writer egos Susi and I will have final say, but the winner of the blog title contest will win……a copy of our book!

HA! Just kidding. You’d have to wait a while and we’re a product of the “now” generation so that would suck for everyone involved. No, the winner of the contest will win a $25 Amazon gift card.

Here are the details:

1. Leave a comment with what you think our blog should be called. Show us your creative genius (If you show us yours we’ll show you ours) But be careful and check to see if the name is available. We’d hate for you to submit a totally brilliant name that is already being used because it’s totally brilliant.

2. Submissions will be open until Wednesday, May 4 at 11:59 pm. I’ve already elected Susi to stay up to close the comments at that time. 😀

3. Thursday, May 5 and Friday, May 6 will be voting days. Vote for your favorite, vote for yourself, pay people to come and vote for you, whatever works! And hey, it’ll bring more traffic to us, so yeah, we’re fine with you bribing people.

4. We’ll announce the winner on Monday, May 9 in Susi’s blog post.

We hope to have our new blog up and running by mid May, with one more change. Don’t worry, this one we can do on our own.

Due to the overwhelming support of our #pubwrite friends, we’ve decided to add book reviews to our blog. So, when we launch our new site, under a new name, you can also find what we really think of all our new friends. HA! Just kidding, they’re all wonderful and you should go buy their books. What? No money? Well isn’t that a coincidence that we’re holding a contest in which you could win a gift card to buy books. 😉

Before I let you go I would like to end this post on a more serious note. (WAIT! Come back!)

It is amazing to think that it has only been four months since we started. The friendship, love, kindness and support that we found on Twitter and through this blog is astounding and completely humbling. There isn’t a word in the English language that can define how much we appreciate your support. So I’ll just end with a simple, yet heartfelt:

THANK YOU!

About Karen DeLabar

A writer who divides her time between her family and her computer while sparing some time to her other loves of theatre, books and scotch.
This entry was posted in Blog, Fun Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Out With The Old, In With The New

  1. Susan Borath says:

    If I am staying up, you are too, my dear!! 🙂

    Can I enter the contest?? 😀

  2. I love that you both are enjoying this ride so much.

    You’re both lovely. So glad I met you in the Twitterverse! And you’re right, it’s a bunch of amazing, supportive, creative people on there — what an AWESOME thing! 😉

  3. Amy Cavenaugh says:

    Great idea, girls! I suck at coming up with titles (as we’ve established) but I wish you the best of luck! 🙂 Glad to see you’re enjoying all of this so much. If I come up w/ anything by the contest deadline I’ll definitely enter your contest 😉

    • Karen DeLabar says:

      Yeah, well, we’re not any better, hence the contest! I did a great job with my kids and I like the names for my characters but there is something about titles for our work that I hit a roadblock. I need a title muse. 😉

    • Susan Borath says:

      Yeah, so do we. Actually, Karen is pretty good. I would title all of mine “Post # XX” if I could get away with it. 🙂 I definitely need that title muse.

  4. Al Boudreau says:

    You two are definitely *Bard Babes,* so “Bard Babes Book Blog” works for me!

    bard=epic author/singer/narrator/poet

  5. Steve says:

    The Karen and Sharon Show?

  6. Steve says:

    How about “Under Construction.” Or maybe “Awesome Title Goes Here.”

  7. Michael Pallante says:

    Writing on the Rocks DOT COM!

  8. lostbowyer says:

    you’re always changing names, now titles, how about “Changed Minds”

  9. Karen DeLabar says:

    Some good ones here. Should be interesting. You guys rock!

  10. Jesse James @mythcop says:

    Yay! Reviews!

  11. I usually have some clever idea for these things write out of the gate then realize how dumb it was afterwords so I decided to think about it and I have come up with:

    Scotch and Alphabet Soup

  12. Lisa says:

    Now I feel the pressure to get out of the uncreative (is that even a word) hole I’ve been in for over a while now and think of a really cool name. But I don’t know if I can in the time limit. Sigh.

  13. Pingback: How a Figment of My Own Imagination Killed the Crankies | Have Coffee… Will Write

  14. I only just realised that you two were doing this! . .. it is so late here and my eyes are hanging out of my head… how about…

    it’s all in the name.com

  15. Pingback: The Performance Hangover | Have Coffee… Will Write

  16. Pingback: » How a Figment of My Own Imagination Killed the Crankies Susan Borath

  17. Pingback: » The Performance Hangover Susan Borath

Leave a Reply

