Blog? What blog?

Did you every have one of those weekends where everything went right for your writing? Whatever you were working on just flowed?

That was my weekend.

This may come as a surprise to many of you, since I have been very upfront with the fact that I normally take the weekends off from writing in favor of family time.

Not this weekend.

Pookie had off on Friday, so we did most of our running around for the weekend, then had dinner with friends. It was a relaxing, productive day. I even managed to get some of the updated outline done for the major re-write of my WIP. (Oh, and I ordered a new laser printer, one that can print 40 pages a minute and can do double-sided printing! I probably shouldn’t be so excited by this, but I am!)

Saturday morning, I decided I was tired of having loose papers everywhere, so I ran to Staples. This is where my plans for a relaxing holiday weekend went out the window.

As I came home with my binder, divider tabs, and other various organizational stuff, this weird sensation came over me. Pookie said he could just see it. It was almost like a magnetic pull to my “office” (aka the writing corner of my dining room).

From that point on, I spent all of Saturday afternoon and evening working. I even skipped #pubwrite in favor of actually writing (shocking, I know).

The same can be said for Sunday morning. (I even skipped church—oops!) For lunch we went to my mother-in-law’s, then came home for a couple of hours before heading to my parent’s house for dinner.

I planned to nap in the time in between, but instead I did some more work. After dinner I did a bit more, although after several glasses of wine, I wasn’t quite as productive and ended up heading to bed early.

I am coming into this week–which will be a week from hell with three rehearsals and a minor-league baseball game between now and opening night of Willy Wonka on Friday–feeling great. I woke up at 6:30 this morning, ready for more of the same. Actually, I wrote over 500 words before 8:00 rolled around and I realized I was forgetting one thing–I needed to write today’s blog post. And I had no idea what to write about. Crap!

So, this brings me to my point. I have seen two schools of thought for dealing with situations like this. Some writers will keep a few “back-up” blog posts to use when their writing gets in the way of their blogging. Others will do what I just did, share the excitement in a short post to explain why they aren’t writing a “real” post.

Here’s my question for you: which would you rather read? A full post, written in advance, on a non-time-sensitive subject? A short post explaining the excitement? Or do you have another idea of how to deal with this? I’d love to hear your ideas!

For now, I am going back to writing. 🙂

About Susi Borath

Susi Borath finds time to write between minor league baseball games, creating new cookie recipes, trying out new Pinterest-inspired crafts, and juggling more laundry than any two people should be able to produce. You can find more about her at http://susiborath.com or follow @susiborath on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blog? What blog?

  1. Lisa says:

    I think this was a perfect post? Why? Because it shares with us the excitement of committing to a real project, and the possibility of that happening to us. I see nothing wrong with a post that writes about writing in such joyous terms. Congrats on the flow, keep writing!

    • Susan Borath says:

      Thanks, Lisa! I have been debating writing a few “just in case” posts, but I keep putting them up or deleting them. I tend to prefer to keep my posts recent, and have a hard time posting something I wrote a few weeks ago. Still, I was curious to see others’ thoughts on just saying that writing got in the way on the rare occasion I am too distracted to write a planned post.
      Personally, I tend to find other people’s successes motivating. If someone posts on Twitter that they wrote 5,000 words, and I am at 50, it tend to give me a bit of a needed kick in the butt to get moving. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

  2. Amy Cavenaugh says:

    I agree with Lisa 🙂 This was the perfect post for today. So glad you were inspired over the weekend! I love when that happens. 🙂 It’s usually a surprise & comes out of nowhere for me but I’m always on cloud 9 when it happens. There’s something in the air this week already and it feels like it could be a gret time for writing. Hope you can keep it up 🙂

  3. Amy Cavenaugh says:

    PS- Apparently I’m happy! Look at all the 🙂 in my comment. ha ha!

    • Susan Borath says:

      Seriously, I LOVE the smiley faces! 😀 I have been told that I use too many of them, so I go back a delete the majority of mine. I 😀 have 😀 been 😀 known 😀 to 😀 write 😀 sentences 😀 that 😀 look 😀 like 😀 this. (Seriously, ask Karen about some of the emails she gets from me.)

      Thanks for the feedback. There really does seem to be something in the air. I have seen quite a few people on Twitter say that they are feeling unusually motivated today. Maybe it is the beautiful spring weather that had finally hit (at least in this area)! 🙂

      • Amy Cavenaugh says:

        LOL 😀 That’s fanstastic! I’ve 😀 been 😀 known to 😀 send 😀 tweets 😀 that look the same way 😀 ha ha Maybe it is the weather? It’s very nice here too! Also may have been the holiday weekend. Seems like everyone had a nice one and that’s wonderful! I feel inspired but haven’t actually sat down to write yet. Hopefully this afternoon I can get back at it. Also, I think your excitement is wearing off on others! 🙂

  4. Great blog post! I love how plans change, which can be all for the best! 🙂

    As for what I’d prefer to read, I say that it all depends on my mood and what the topic is. (Your topics are always wonderful).

  5. Karen DeLabar says:

    I agree. I felt the excitement in your post that I’m sure came with just writing what you were feeling at the moment. It was great!

    • Susan Borath says:

      Thank you Karen! 😀 I am excited. Everything is coming together so nicely. I feel like I could sit in front of the computer and write for days! (Too bad rehearsal is going to get in the way of that!)
      I am hoping I can keep it up for a while. 😀

  6. 2blu2btru says:

    What I like to do is to do what feels right. When I’m really excited, I just can’t help but share the good news. However, I do have some half written, abandoned, or general gist but not fleshed out posts stored up for rainy days. I don’t know; I just love the excitement of relating accomplishments better, though. I’m so excited for you right now! Way to go! 😀

    I would love to hear about your writing triumphs. We always share our failures; why not share when we’ve been able to get something great (or just productive) on paper?

  7. Pingback: They’re only words | I choose how I will spend the rest of my life

Leave a Reply

