With All This Reading and Tweeting, When Am I Supposed to Write?

A few months ago, after successfully completing NaNoWriMo, Kaye and I decided to seriously pursue this writing thing. So, we started reading blogs about how to approach it and what needed to be done other than just writing.

That is where we learned about blogging. And Twitter. And Facebook fan pages. And that we needed them.

Neither of us what very happy. Kaye will tell you I pushed her to create a blog and to join Twitter. I did. I didn’t want to do it, but I knew I should. I also know it is easier to go into it with a friend.

So, on January 5, (also my birthday), we both created new Twitter accounts (Kaye, Savana). We also started looking into blogging and the different platforms. Before long, Have Coffee… Will Write was born.

I have had a Twitter account for a while. I followed a few family members and friends, and a whole slew of celebrities. (Now that the real name is public knowledge, feel free to check it out- @SQNonns.) During NaNo, I added a few writers and tweeted a bit as I went, but nothing major. As of today, my grand total number of Tweets on that account is 87, and I have a whopping 31 followers (a good chuck of which came in the past few days). But, I figured, at least I knew what I was getting into.

Blogging, on the other hand, was completely foreign to me. It wasn’t anything I had ever seriously thought of doing. I couldn’t figure out how I was going to come up with something original to say multiple times a week.

Surprisingly, I ended up finding writing a blog to be fun. I use it to get thing off of my chest, and to ask for feedback from other writers. I find I get a lot of useful suggestions. (Thank you all, by the way.) It also keep me in the habit of writing, even on those days where I don’t want to.

Twitter was a different story. For anyone who hasn’t figured it out yet, I tend to be long-winded. I just can’t seem to get anything productive out in 140 characters or less. I found myself writing tweets that were too long, then deleting them and not posting a thing because I couldn’t figure out how to shorten them without sounding like a total idiot.

Still, I did manage to talk to some people, and I noticed a trend.

First was Bob Mayer.  Within the two or three tweets we have sent, I realized that he is an alum of West Point, graduating a year after my uncle.  A few years ago, my little brother also graduated from the Academy.  So, I was intrigued by his books.  What did to do?  I bought one.  (I am almost done with it now, and I LOVE it!)

I also saw that Steve Umstead posted a lot about eReaders, so I talked to him a few times about that.  Again, I bought his book. (It is next on my list of almost 60.)

Still, I was going days without even looking at Twitter.  I knew I shouldn’t, but I hadn’t seen any real benefit of Twitter yet.

While I was struggling, Kaye was embracing Twitter. She tweeted all the time, was talking to a lot more people than I was, and loved it.

I didn’t get it.

Then, last week, she said I should join her in #pubwrite, where a group of writers talk about writing, drinking, and anything else that may come up (like a naked Gerard Butler – yum). I was skeptical, but tried it. And now I am addicted.

In less that a week, my total tweets went from about 200 to the current 616. Suddenly, I wasn’t worried about the number of characters. I was having conversations with real people. If it didn’t all fit in one tweet, I would add another, something I was afraid to do before.

So, I would like to thank all my #pubwrite friends for teaching me to embrace Twitter. But they have done more than that. They have made me more confident as a writer. They accepted me even though I am a “newbie” writer, even though I have nothing published (yet). Heck, they even got me to reveal my real name.

There’s only one problem—now I want to read all of their books too.  As more people join, I find that my to read pile just keeps growing.

Seriously, though, is that such a bad problem to have?

 

A few months ago, after successfully completing NaNoWriMo, Kaye and I
decided to seriously pursue this writing thing.  So, we started
reading blogs about how to approach it and what needed to be done
other than just writing.
That is where we learned about blogging.  And Twitter.  And Facebook
fan pages.  And that we needed them.
Neither of us what very happy.  Kaye will tell you I pushed her to
create a blog and to join Twitter.  I did.  I didn’t want to do it,
but I knew I should.  I also know it is easier to go into it with a
friend.
So, on January 5, (also my birthday), we both created new Twitter
accounts.  We also started looking into blogging and the different
platforms.  Before long, Have Coffee… Will Write was born.
I have had a Twitter account for a while.  I followed a few family
members and friends, and a whole slew of celebrities.  (Now that the
real name is public knowledge, feel free to check it out- @SQNonns.)
During NaNo, I added a few writers and tweeted a bit as I went, but
nothing major.  As of today, my grand total number of Tweets on that
account is 87, and I have a whopping 31 followers (a good chuck of
which came in the past few days).  But, I figured, at least I knew
what I was getting into.
Blogging, on the other hand, was completely foreign to me.  It wasn’t
anything I had ever seriously thought of doing.  I couldn’t figure out
how I was going to come up with something original to say multiple
times a week.
Surprisingly, I ended up finding writing a blog to be fun.  I use it
to get thing off of my chest, and to ask for feedback from other
writers.  I find I get a lot of useful suggestions. (Thank you all, by
the way.) It also keep me in the habit of writing, even on those days
where I don’t want to.
Twitter was a different story.  For anyone who hasn’t figured it out
yet, I tend to be long winded.  I just can’t seem to get anything
productive out in 140 characters or less.  I found myself writing
tweets that were too long, then deleting them and not posting a thing
because I couldn’t figure out how to shorten them without sounding
like a total idiot.
Still, I did manage to talk to some people, and I noticed a trend.
First was Bob Mayer.  Within the two or three tweets we have sent, I
realized that he is an alum of West Point, graduating a year after my
uncle.  A few years ago, my little brother also graduated from the
Academy.  So, I was intrigued by his books.  What did to do?  I bought
one.  (I am almost done with it now, and I LOVE it!)
I also saw that Steve Umstead posted a lot about eReaders, so I talked
to him a few times about that.  Again, I bought his book. (It is next
on my list of almost 60.)
Still, I was going days without even looking at Twitter.  I knew I
shouldn’t, but I hadn’t seen any real benefit of Twitter yet.
While I was struggling, Kaye was embracing Twitter.  She tweeted all
the time, was talking to a lot more people than I was, and loved it.
I didn’t get it.
Then, last week, she said I should join her in #pubwrite, where a
group of writers talk about writing, drinking, and anything else that
may come up (like a naked Gerard Butler – yum).  I was skeptical, but
tried it. And now I am addicted.
In less that an week, my total tweets went from about 200 to the
current 616.  Suddenly, I wasn’t worried about the number of
characters.  I was having conversations with real people.  If it
didn’t all fit in one tweet, I would add another, something I was
afraid to do before.
So, I would like to tank all my #pubwrite friends for teaching me to
embrace Twitter. But they have done more than that.  They have made me
more confident as a writer.  They accepted me even though I am a
“newbie” writer, even though I have nothing published (yet).  Heck,
they even got me to reveal my real name.
There’s only one problem—now I want to read all of their books too.
As more people join, I find that my to read pile just keeps growing.

Seriously, though, is that such a bad problem to have?

About Susi Borath

Susi Borath finds time to write between minor league baseball games, creating new cookie recipes, trying out new Pinterest-inspired crafts, and juggling more laundry than any two people should be able to produce. You can find more about her at http://susiborath.com or follow @susiborath on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Blog, Fun Stuff, Reading, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to With All This Reading and Tweeting, When Am I Supposed to Write?

  1. Don’t worry, I have the same problem. Luckily for me the computer I use to write with is so old it if it got hooked up to the net it would likely age like it drank from an incorrectly chosen Grail (ala Indiana Jones).
    Good luck with your Tweet/Write balance and if I don’t already I soon will be following you @twitter!

    • Savana Quinn says:

      Thanks so much! I just followed you back (from both accounts).

      I have a computer that isn’t the best on the internet. Maybe I should use that for writing. Although, that wouldn’t be as much fun! 🙂

    • Kaye Peters says:

      So, you’re BATMAN! How awesome is that!

      Psst, look behind you, you’re also being followed on Twitter 😉

  2. Kaye Peters says:

    Yes, you pressured me into and I don’t think I have yet to say “thank you”, so…THANK YOU!

    I’ve met the most amazing and supportive people on Twitter!

    We are so lucky that we live in a time where it is possible to connect with so many people with common interests. Thanks to Twitter we can find encouragement, support or just a laugh when and if we need it.

    I’m glad that you are enjoying #pubwrite. Apparently I’m enjoying it too much since I’ve spent the past three nights in “Twitter jail” for tweeting over the Tweetdeck limit. What can I say? These writers are great people that I just can’t stop talking to them!

  3. Amy Cavenaugh says:

    So glad you are both on Twitter! I’ve been on for a couple of years but only recently have begun to use it for writing purposes/to meet fellow writers. #Pubwrite has been the greatest find! 🙂 Btw did you know you can do long updates on TweetDeck now so you’re not just limited to 140 characters. I either use that or send multiple tweets with a (cont’d)
    Although I’ve been writing since I was 13, I still consider myself a newbie as well. And I definitely feel you with the long “To Read” list. Where are we going to find the time to read all these books, tweet AND write?! 😉 A dilemma but happy to have it.

    • Savana Quinn says:

      Thanks, Amy! #pubwrite is a great find. 🙂
      I have been writing since I was a kid, too. I just never thought I would actually pursue publication. I did it for fun.
      I can’t imagine working full time now. I struggle to find a balance between writing, blogging, reading, family, and, of course, #pubwrite. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Anonymous

  5. Pingback: With All This Reading and Tweeting, When Am I Supposed to Write? « ~ S. M. Nonnemacher ~

Leave a Reply

