Swimming Upstream

I purposely waited to write this until this morning. (Yes, that is twice in one week.) I knew I was writing a follow-up to Monday’s post where I swore I was going to learn to ignore the distractions of life and just write. I was hoping something amazing would happen, perhaps me learning to type while I sleep. That would be awesome! Alas, no such luck. So, for the past two days, I wrote a whopping… 750 words. Wow. Amazing.

In all actuality, I feel like I am getting nowhere quickly.  Like I am trying to swim against the current.  I tend to be a Type A, competitive, hardworking person.  I must say, my current pattern is not a great feeling.  I hate to fail.  I refuse to fail.  But, right now, I feel like I am failing.

The funny thing is, I want to write. I would much rather be writing than running all over creation. I am writing the story in my head as I am doing other things. I know what I want to write. I have the characters floating in my head at all times. They are beginning to feel like pesky house guests that won’t leave me alone until I give them what they want. And what they want is to have their story told.

So, what happened? I hate making excuses, but I have had one heck of a migraine for days. It is making looking at a computer screen difficult, and I am definitely not a pen and paper writer. I write too slow, and my hand can’t keep up with my brain.  I end up with more half-written sentences than full ones, and have to go back and rewrite everything anyway.  So, I decided to try reading yesterday afternoon, thinking some relaxation may help with the migraine. Ha! Instead, I passed out cold.

Usually Cami (the dog) wakes me after a half hour or so, but she wasn’t here. She spent last night in the puppy hospital for dehydration because she couldn’t stop throwing up. So, I slept for over two and a half hours until Pookie called to say he was on the way home. Then I made dinner and we curled up on the sofa to watch some TV. I thought it would be nice to be able to cuddle with my husband without 14 pounds of fur popping up between us, but it seemed odd. Even now, it is really quiet here.

I emailed Kaye and swore that when Pookie was off to bed, and I would try to set myself up for today. I wanted to finish my last character profile and outline today’s blog. I told her I was still planning on following up on Mondays post, but I was not sure how, since I continued to get distracted. And I still can’t get away from Pookie to write because I have nowhere to go until I find a desk.

Of course, that didn’t happen. I went to bed when Pookie went to bed. I couldn’t sleep, but I didn’t get up and write. I am blaming it on the migraine.

So, I have written a grand total of 750 words since Monday’s post. But I did get time with my brother, and I babysat my Godson some more, and I took my grandmother to the doctor and the pharmacy and the dog to the hospital, and I took a long nap. Seriously, I am way too easily distracted. I need help. Or drugs. Maybe an intervention.

I apologize for the rant, but I am sure I am not the only one who feels this way, even though sometimes I feel like I am wandering alone. I am very frustrated, but hoping today will be a better day. I am feeling optimistic. 🙂

Does anyone have any tricks to writing when looking at a computer makes your head feel like it is going to explode (other than pen and paper)? Ways to keep the dog from eating things they shouldn’t? Groundbreaking tips on how to say “no” to life’s distractions?

About Susi Borath

Susi Borath finds time to write between freelance marketing jobs, minor league baseball games, creating new cookie recipes, and juggling more laundry than any two people should be able to produce. You can find more about her at http://susiborath.com or follow @susiborath on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Swimming Upstream

  1. 2blu2btru says:

    I’m sorry, but pen and paper is the best thing for it. You could try adjusting the brightness and contrast on your screen to take some of the pain out of looking at it. Since I’m a good typist, I will sometimes look away and just type. I can come back to a proofreading nightmare, but at least I get it all out on the screen to look at later. Excedrin Migraine is the best over the counter remedy I can think of (as a migraine sufferer myself).

  2. Kaye Peters says:

    As Ana knows I suffer from migraines as well, but there are those weird days that my mind doesn’t care that my head is going to explode and insists on writing. On those days I do the same thing as 2blu2btru – I close my eyes and type. I’m pretty darn good if I do say so myself…which I just did. 🙂 And when I do make mistakes it makes for a good laugh, which all need now and then.

    Life can suck on a daily basis and sometimes all you can get is 750 words, but you’re looking at it the wrong way. Instead of saying “only” you have to think that its 750 more than you had before.

    Yesterday is done, tomorrow is too far away, all you can worry about is today. Take some Execdrine Migraine, go write something and call me in the morning. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Swimming Upstream | Have Coffee… Will Write -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

