Just another Manic Monday

Actually, today is worse than most. Pookie has off. My brother just came in at midnight, on his way from one Army Post to another. There is fresh snow outside in need of shoveling and maybe a snow angel or two. Yet here I sit, writing my blog on Monday morning, something I swore I would never do.

Why, you ask? Because I am easily distracted. Last week consisted of babysitting and running to doctors’ appointments and getting the car washed and oil changed, cleaning the house and all sorts of other mundane tasks. (OK, babysitting isn’t mundane. That was fun. The rest was though.)

Then, to get my writing in, I tried a rewards system. When I wrote a blog post, I would get to read a chapter. When I write a chapter, I could read three. Makes sense, right?

Wrong. As I said last week, when I get involved in a book, I tune out the world. Including those little chapter breaks. One chapter turned into six. Three turned into the rest of the book. Add to that all of the other stuff I had to do, and it left very little time for actual writing.

Which brings me to today. Two weeks ago I was two weeks ahead in my blogging, and determined to stay that way. I didn’t. Without the pressure of having a deadline, I wrote no more posts. Oops. And I did very little writing in general last week. Double oops. Because now I have no idea of what to write about here.

Wow, distracted again. We have a mini season ticket plan to our local Triple-A baseball team, and I just realized that it is time to pre-order tickets for other games (because 18 is not enough).

So, here’s my plan. I have dealt with today being a wash. I have a dreaded dentist appointment, time with my baby brother (who is 26), and rehearsal tonight for Willy Wonka. And don’t forget that snow.

Tomorrow is looking better. So, I will finish my book today, so I am not distracted by that. Tomorrow morning I will write. And write. And write some more. And then I will have something to write about on Thursday. At least that is the plan. I’ll let you know how it goes. 🙂

Do you ever find yourself letting life get in the way of your writing? How do you get past it? Did you notice this is the Seinfeld of blog posts? Instead of a show about nothing, it is a blog about nothing. I feel like such a slacker.

About Susi Borath

Susi Borath finds time to write between minor league baseball games, creating new cookie recipes, trying out new Pinterest-inspired crafts, and juggling more laundry than any two people should be able to produce. You can find more about her at http://susiborath.com or follow @susiborath on Twitter.
This entry was posted in Blog, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just another Manic Monday

  1. 2blu2btru says:

    I am always finding myself distracted by life when it comes to my writing! I have a regular job and a consulting thing on the side, and between those, my dad wanting me to edit his book and format it for smashwords, reading Harlequins, play rehearsal at church, and putting together a college prep talk for the high schoolers at church, I have “genuine” reasons not to write lately.

    What saves me is I have a digital recorder and a tiny notebook in my purse to keep up with ideas that float through while I’m doing something else. I’ll schedule it in like anything else I have to do. I’ll write while my clothes wash and dry (as I’m at the complex laundry and away from the TV, Phone, and Internet), during my lunch break at work, or first thing when I get home. You just have to find a time that works for you, isn’t taking you away from something else important, and that coincides with when you are at your most creative. I haven’t found that time yet, but I’m working on it! Good luck to you.

  2. Kaye Peters says:

    I know the feeling all too well. I feel like a delinquent not writing and I don’t even have a real job! However, I must say, two kids aged 1 and 3, well, they make up for the no 9-5 day job. I’ve tried scheduling writing during their naps but that never works. Sometimes they sleep, sometimes they don’t; so I am constantly trying to listen for them to wake up instead of trying to get into the “zone.”

    I did schedule two hours at night after they go to sleep. I was doing well for a couple of weeks but then last week I just found myself drained, it was so easy to lay on the sofa and catch up on some reading than it was to sit at the desk and make my brain come up with interesting word choices to describe rain hitting the side of a house. When I did try it came out “and it was raining outside.” *sigh*

    Daily life demands that we sacrifice our own time and when we finally get a chance to have time for ourselves we get greedy. It’s hard to split up our free time amongst everything we have to give up just to get through a normal day. I’m still trying to figure it out. And with two young kids I’m realizing that I’m going to have to be more disciplined with myself and my free time. (what little there is of it!)

  3. Pingback: Swimming Upstream | Have Coffee… Will Write

Leave a Reply

